Reviews

Add A Review

Rated 5/5 based on 14 customer reviews
"Thanks you to Whitney, Holly, and all their assistants who worked me through shoulder issues in the past two months. They are pleasant, patient, knowledgeable and take the time to work each patient through their routines. They will be my go to PT forever! "
Oct 17, 2020
"I had an amazing experience here. I came in after rotator cuff surgery and wasn't even able to lift a coffee cup. By the time I finished my PT sessions, I felt great and was back to lifting weights. Everybody here is nice and very professional. They work hard to ensure you are put on the right program and that you do your exercises properly and don't slack off. They are a very knowledgeable group, but even more importantly, they are very nice and genuinely care about their patients. 5 Stars. I will use them again."
Sep 29, 2020
From Google
"I cannot say enough good things about my experiences at Annapolis Family Physical Therapy this past year. The front desk staff, the assistants and the therapists, absolutely everyone was so kind and encouraging. The expertise of Whitney, Mike, Chelsea, Holly, and many others got me through two significant surgeries--and one pandemic--safely and with great results. This time last year I could hardly walk but now I am back to playing pickleball! I feel so very grateful for their care but will miss seeing "my family." They are the best."
Sep 27, 2020
"Great practice! The staff was polite and friendly from the moment I called to my discharge. I never felt Like a patient but more like part of a family. The facility was clean always and during this COVID crisis, all precautions were taken to keep you safe without making you feel like you have been "sanitized". I would recommend this practice to anyone who needs physical therapy."
Sep 02, 2020
"I was referred to Annapolis Family Physical Therapy by my doctor to treat a shoulder injury. He said they are the "A" team and he is right. The two therapists that worked with me are both wonderful, both joys to work with. With their assistance I regained the use of my shoulder and now can do everyday functions without pain. When I began I couldn't get my wallet or cell phone into or out of my back pocket without sharp pain. The office staff is also quite friendly, and I will miss seeing them as well. "
Aug 27, 2020
"I just successfully finished my post shoulder bicep tendonesis and frozen shoulder surgery rehabilitation treatment at Annapolis Family Physical Therapy. I received outstanding professional care from Whitney Carlsen, PT who initially diagnosed, prescribed and managed my care throughout my recovery. Chelsea Williams, PTA also provided me outstanding care and instruction too. I also want to comment on the support staff from the front office to the young physical therapy technicians who also provided very professional and courteous services. Bottom line: Excellent professional physical therapy services from start to finish! Thanks again for all of your support!"
Jun 04, 2020
"I want to highly recommend Annapolis Family Physical Therapy, I found them 7 years ago when after multiple attempts to quell severe pain in my neck with other physical therapist, acupuncturist and chiropractors I was ready for invasive surgery, my surgeon recommended 1 more try and that's when I found Mike and his team, I was skeptical but he told me to give PT one more chance, after a few months they led me down a path back to a normal life. Age is now starting to catch up to me and again my neck pain started to come back, I went right back to Mike and in no time I was back on the path to normal. His team is amazing and I owe them my quality of life! Thank you for your great caring and professional work, I am forever indebted. "
Mar 04, 2020
"All of the staff here is super and their new facility is roomy and well-equipped."
Feb 18, 2020
From Google
"My 83 yr old father was not a fan of going to therapy. He is stubborn and set in his ways but Whitney and the entire staff has won him over. They are not only extremely professional and knowledgeable but you feel like you are making friends. My father now looks forward to going. Thanks to all at the Severna park location."
Jan 28, 2020
Jan 25, 2020
From Google
"The first thing I noticed during my time at AFPT is their ability to make you feel comfortable and as though you're part of the family there. You walk in and they really take the time to get to know you and talk to you about how you are feeling and what your goals are for recovery. I saw Mike, Whitney, and Lauren while I was there and they were all awesome! Imoni, the tech was really helpul too in explaining the exercises and making sure I was doing them correctly. I was really nervous going in because I have other health issues but once I got in there, I immediately felt comfortable and even ended up being discharged quicker than I expected to be because I was doing so well. The whole team at Severna Park is amazing and you'd be in great hands if you have to go there! Highly reccommend. "
Jan 23, 2020
"My daughter and I both came to this clinic because of Whitney, but as a person who is not a big believer in physical therapy, I was pleasantly surprised by everyone in this clinic and would never consider going anywhere else if I should ever need physical therapy again. Whitney and Lauren are both very skilled and really take the time to get to know their patients and figure out how best to motivate them to aid in their own recovery. They also take the time to make you feel comfortable and really make you feel like you're part of the Annapolis PT family. I have seen them work magic on my daughter as well who has chronic debilitating back pain and after some time in PT, she can move again! You can see that they really care about their patients! All the techs and and assistants are wonderful and Debbie at the front desk really impresses me with the time she takes to explain insurance benefits and information to incoming patients. I can honestly say whatever injury or ailment you may have, if you need physical therapy for any reason... the Severna Park location of Annapolis Family PT is the place to go! Whitney and Lauren will take care of you for sure!"
Jan 23, 2020
"Annapolis Family Physical Therapy is the BEST!!! My husband actually recommended them to me, and I couldn't be happier! Whitney and Lauren are the greatest, and have help relieve so much pain in my lower back. Everyone (staff and clients), feels like a little family, it makes going to PT FUN!!! Debbie up front is also amazing, and works with everyone to make sure billing and insurance runs smoothy. I hope they will still let me visit when I get better!!! :)"
Jan 22, 2020
From Google
"The staff at the Severna Park office are very friendly. Not only are they knowledgeable, but they care about their patients. I would have never pushed myself without their support. I highly recommend their practice!"
Jan 21, 2020
From Google
"I wouldn't go anywhere else!! I've been there multiple times for more than one injury and I always leave feeling like a new person! I started going there because of Whitney, but have seen Lauren as well and love them both. They are knowledgeable, supportive, and they make sure you are getting the best care possible. They push me to work hard, to listen to my body and to push my limits. They taught me that I'm capable of a lot more than I give myself credit for. They are all the nicest bunch of people. You will feel comfortable and feel like you're part of the family as soon as you go in there! If you need a physical therapist, Whitney is by far the best you could ask for!"
Jan 19, 2020
From Google
Jan 10, 2020
From Google
"Exceptional service from exceptional people providing excellent results."
Dec 11, 2019
"As a long time patient who has gone through hip replacement, shoulder, and spine rehabilitation therapy between 2017-2018, I can honestly state that the therapists and aides are the best. Although my therapies have been completed, I continue to participate in the health link program. The therapists continue to ensure that my exercises are correctly carried out. Thanks to Whitney, Laura and Mike my recoveries have been 100% complete."
Dec 10, 2019
"So far, speaking with the staff at Annapolis Family Physical Therapy has been the most pleasant, thorough, and responsive customer service I’ve ever experienced. I am a new client who called today to set up my first consultation and exam after being referred by my primary care physician. Debbie, their receptionist, worked with me to get set up for an appointment two weeks out and said she would call if anything opened up sooner. Within 15 mins, she called back with news that they could move me up to tomorrow afternoon! We rescheduled for that time, she said she’d call my insurance and let me know about the coverage available to me when I came in. She was unable to reach my insurance provider as it is a holiday, but called me to make sure I was aware that she’d do her best to get in contact with them before I arrived tomorrow, but she’d deifnitely be able to let me know what I would be granted by my insurance before I left my appointment. She said this was not something she liked to do, because they’d prefer to alert clients of their insurance providers policies before attending their first appointment so we don’t feel blindsided, but she asked if I was alright with knowing after my appointment if necessary and I said that was perfectly fine. After about an hour and a half (of what I’m sure was tireless work on Debbie’s end), she reached out to me again to alert me that she has called her main office and the direct line of my third party insurance twice to get a final say of what it would cost me for my first appointment tomorrow. The news wasn’t so great but she broke it to me so earnestly, she went through every single option I had and made sure I understood exactly what my choices were. I decided to postpone my appointment to a later date, but Debbie is THE BEST. She kept me in the loop every step of the way! I can’t wait to come in and start therapy (and meet Debbie in person!) but I wanted everyone to know what a great job she does!"
Nov 11, 2019
From Google
"I love the staff. They are friendly, compassionate and knowledgeable. I highly recommend them. I am stronger now and can accomplish whatever I want. Best thing I did was going to see them for my injury."
Oct 16, 2019
From Google
"Nothing but good things to say about Annapolis Family PT. Everything was easy--setting up the initial consult, scheduling appointments, the clear PT instruction. The physical therapists and all assistants were extremely professional and actually care about your progress and how you are feeling."
Sep 19, 2019
From Google
"I came here for neck problems after years of bad posture and less-than-perfect form in the gym. Every single person who works there is fantastic! Kind, professional, and extremely knowledgeable. Whitney and Lauren were the PT and PTA I usually worked with, but the whole staff is great. I actually looked forward to my appointments, and made really quick progress. I will not hesitate for a moment to go back here if/when I need PT in the future."
Sep 13, 2019
From Google
"They helped me thru ankle and shoulder injuries. Whitney and Lauren at Severna Park are patient and encouraging, escalating the exercises on a daily basis based on your individual progress. And Debbie at the front desk is a jewel, helping manage the many insurance issues. The entire staff fosters a family atmosphere. I will actually miss going to physical therapy."
Aug 30, 2019
From Google
Aug 22, 2019
From Google
Aug 20, 2019
From Google
"Mike is by far the best PT there is. He is very knowledgeable and professional. The ability to get my full range of motion back in such a short amount of time has changed my life. My shoulder injury had me on the sidelines. After a couple of months with Mike he had my shoulder stronger and throwing harder then before my injury."
Aug 15, 2019
From Google
"Whittney Carlsen is an excellent physical therapist with years of successful experience. She identified my issue and provided practical exercises to resolve the issue. Highly recommended."
Aug 07, 2019
From Google
Jun 27, 2019
From Google
"This company thrives to go over and beyond any expectations. You truely are care and feel the groups values."
Jun 17, 2019
From Google
May 23, 2019
From Google
"Still go to this place twice a week. Excellent staff helped me to recover from an accident I had in January of yhis year. Recommend this practice to people who need quality service snd attention."
May 23, 2019
From Google
"Steve?1289"
May 04, 2019
From Google
"Wonderful experience. Knowledgeable, caring therapists and a friendly environment."
May 02, 2019
"I completed a course of treatment for a knee injury at Annapolis Family Physical Therapy at their Riva Road location. Notable expertise from Jillian Fichman, D.P.T. who performed the initial diagnosis and prescribed a course of treatment; and Chelsea Williams, P.T.A who worked with me to recover and strengthen my knee. There are multiple assistants to help manage the workouts and treatments to ensure attentiveness to the patients and productive use of time. The front office staff were very helpful scheduling appointments and processing the insurance claim covering the treatments without issue. I am very pleased with my rapid recovery and appreciate the one-on-one care I received. I highly recommend Annapolis Family Therapy."
Apr 30, 2019
From Google
"Outstanding customer service, they explained everything in detail. They were on time and very knowledgeable. And kid friendly!!!!"
Apr 30, 2019
From Google
"I started therapy after a total hip replacement. I was amazed at how quickly I was able to recover from surgery thanks to the strengthening and balance program that Mike created for me. I loved the opportunity to get in the pool as well. It was a very well rounded experience for me."
Apr 30, 2019
From Google
"Best physical therapy plCe in Annapolis."
Apr 29, 2019
From Google
"I saw Whitney for a frozen shoulder from September 2018 to April 2019. The entire staff was encouraging, helpful, and enjoyable to be around every week. It was a very upbeat and friendly atmosphere. Whitney was extremely thorough and innovative with therapy. She really improved my quality of life by helping me through this issue."
Apr 24, 2019
From Google
"I first met Doug and Holly in 2015 following a serious accident that resulted in four surgeries and months of rehabilitation. When I entered the facility, I was in a wheelchair and had just begun to use a walker for short distances. Thanks to their expertise and caring encouragement -- even some creative approaches to motivating me -- I walked out about 9 months later with my life back. Most recently they have helped me cope with chronic back pain without drugs. Following their program, I just keep getting stronger. I would recommend Family Therapy to anyone in need. "
Apr 24, 2019
Apr 10, 2019
From Google
"Are you around going to Annapolis family physical therapy was the best decision I've made since I moved to Maryland besides marrying my husband. I'm so grateful for all the people at the Severna Park office and especially grateful for Joy!!!! I feel truly blessed to have joy work with me in the pool!! I have been through a lot of physical therapy in the last 12 to 14 years and she is the best!!!! I don't even want to imagine where I would be had it not been for Joy.my life may not always be easy and I may always be in pain because of my illnesses but I will say this I am so much better with her help and I'm extremely thankful!!!"
Apr 08, 2019
From Google
"I have used Annapolis Family Physical Therapy’s services for the past three years, and they have been very helpful in providing great rehab for my ailments. They also have an excellent continuing care program where you can use their facilities to continue exercising and maintaining your rehabbed body parts."
Mar 29, 2019
From Google
Mar 25, 2019
From Google
"Very helpful and knowledgable shoulder moving like I'm younger great team"
Mar 21, 2019
From Google
"Chelsea, Mike and Holly are great at what they do...they encourage you though the pain, and we're very positive during my pain full total knee replacement rehab....keep up the good work team!..Mark H Moore RN CIC"
Mar 10, 2019
From Google
"I'm a 28-year-old brain tumor survivor and an ex-college athlete. I enjoyed Mike and Whitney's approach to care because they kept it fun, interesting and tapped into my competitive nature which helped elevate my care. I am very sad it has come to an end!"
Jan 14, 2019
Dec 20, 2018
From Google
"They do great work, knowledgeable staff, a fantastic, professional experience."
Dec 08, 2018
From Google
"Great team of quality individuals who want you to get well! The team is extremely friendly and knowledgeable. They work well with young people, ex-athletes trying to relive their glory, (that's me...) and those who are in recovery from surgeries due to wear and tear that happens when you have a few more birthdays under your belt. I recommend them to everyone."
Oct 29, 2018
From Google
"Made arrangements to take my post hip replacement PT at the Riva road office a month before surgery. The gals in the front office were very accommodating, and scheduled me a starting date a week after surgery at my request. Did two days a week for four and a half weeks and walked out of there feeling just about 100% normal. Can’t say enough about the prescribed exercises overseen by Mike and Chelsea that yielded positive results on a day to day basis. You could just feel yourself gaining strength and motion after each session. I’ve already recommended them to a neighbor that is going there now and would highly recommend them to anybody who asks. The word Family certainly fits the practice."
Oct 25, 2018
From Google
"I can't say enough great things about this office! The therapists are knowledgeable, hardworking, fun and very positive. The atmosphere motivates you to give your all. I will never go anywhere else."
Oct 18, 2018
From Google
"(Translated by Google) Very caring staff, suitable rental. (Original) Very caring staff,convient location."
Jun 14, 2018
From Google
"This is a fantastic practice. The therapists on staff are phenomenal; they expertly guided me through a program that got me up and running (literally) in a safe and timely manner. I can't recommend their services highly enough."
May 16, 2018
From Google
"Great team."
Dec 23, 2017
From Google
"I've been coming here for 10+ years. It is a great practice. They have the best massage deal in town."
Jul 19, 2016
From Google
Feb 02, 2016
From Google
©2018 Google LLC All rights reserved. Google and the Google logo are registered trademarks of Google LLC.

“Annapolis Family Physical Therapy was extremely helpful to me. Before I went to therapy I had difficulty climbing stairs, getting out of the car and dancing or exercising. After several weeks of physical therapy, massage, ultrasound treatments and icing, I am able to resume all of my regular activities. My hip is strengthened and I am not longer experiencing pain from bursitis.”

~L.L. 12/17/18

“I was referred to Annapolis Family Physical Therapy by my Primary Care Physician for lower back and hip pain. From my first visit, I was greeted by a friendly and professional staff that made me feel welcome. The staff in the practice works so well together from the front office to the techs & assistants and therapists. The one goal by everyone is clearly the successful treatment for their patients. I would not hesitate to recommend Annapolis Family PhysicalTherapy. They will be my first choice should I need this type of care in the future!”

~M.S. 12/6/18

“In August 2018, when the doctor said I needed knee surgery, my choice of physical therapy was already decided. AFPT has helped me recover from prior surgeries and numerous sports-related injuries since 1988. The PTs are professional, knowledgeable and caring; and the front office is friendly and accommodating. With PT visits 2x/week over three months and a structured home program, we steadily improved my knee strength and range of motion. On a recent visit to my doctor, I received encouraging progress made from the extensive surgery. It’s comforting to know that AFPT can help keep this injury-prone body going!”

~J.W. 12/6/18

“I came to Annapolis Family PT with a bad back, poor balance, and a hairline pelvic fracture. I found them to be excellent in their care, very experienced, professional yet at the same time compassionate and kind. I felt like family! Judging from the conversations I overheard, everyone seemed to feel the same way.”

~MJK 12/14/18

“I’m a 28 year old brain tumor survivor and an ex-college athlete. I enjoyed Mike and Whitney’s approach to care because they kept it fun, interesting and tapped into my competitive nature which helped elevate my care. I am very sad it has come to an end!”

~K.M. 9/20/18

“I saw a dramatic difference in my pain level from plantar fasciitis and achillles tendonitis and in my balance. All within 2.5 months! Great team at Severna Park.”

~MM 8/24/18

“I was pleased and surprised to receive such personalized attention and quality care.”

~ZL 10/18/18

“I didn’t have any specific injuries or surgeries, but I came to therapy to help my neck and back. I was always tight, uncomfortable and I had horrible posture. After completing therapy, my posture is fixed, I’m not in any more pain and I don’t feel that tightness anymore. Everyone at the clinic was incredible.”

~JC 8/16/18

“Dr. Mike shows the care and compassion that you would want for any loved one. This is a wonderful facility with a fantastic staff!”

~CH 5/22/18

“In 20 years, I’ve been to PT at Johns Hopkins, Anne Arundel Hospital and two others. You’re the best of all!”

~J.P. 8/13/18

“The word family definitely applies here. I felt like I was very special to everyone I had contact with.”

~J.L. 6/12/18

“I was discharged after two months and able to resume my normal life. I couldn’t believe the progress I made! Thank you!”

~G.S. 2/21/18

“My goal was to be back to skiing as soon as possible after surgery. My surgery was Oct 3 and I was skiing by Mid January”

~L.A. 2/19/18

“Joy was so experienced. She really believed in Aquatic therapy and recommended ways to heal/gain strength and reduce pain.”

~JMH 6/1/18

“The treatment was excellent I was always comfortable and enjoyed the family environment. The staff is exceptional.”

~A.W. 6/918

“I was immediately impressed with the individual attention and personalized care I received from the beginning. As I watched the other Pts/PTAs interact with patients (in many cases quite elderly, sometimes confused and unsteady) I was struck by the genuine care and compassion demonstrated.”

~MR 6/19/18

“The caring attitude and treatment of all with dignity is notable.”

~S.B 6/23/18

“Annapolis Family Physical Therapy is a first -class organization. The entire team is friendly, courteous and professional. They are genuinely concerned with the patient’s well being and the rehab process.”

~D.W. 3/31/18

“I was always greeted with a smile and appointments were scheduled around my schedules.”

~Diw 4/20/18

“This is my second round with AFPT for a completely different issue. Though it had been years since my last sessions, I felt I was indeed back with my “family”. Mike and Holly followed a very personalized protocol for my foot injury that got me back to my fitness goal.

I have many choices for PT in Annapolis, but I will always come back to this “family” practice. In fact, I just recommended AFPT to a friend. Thanks for the professional and personal care.”

~AMD 7/26/18

“There is no better rehab facility in the Annapolis area; period!

On two separate occasions, I have called on this group to help me recover from painful and debilitating operations. The first involved my lower back, the second was help in recovery from a carpal tunnel operation. In both cases, they were successful.

There aren’t enough superlatives to describe my estimation of the facility and the staff at Annapolis Family Physical Therapy. “Family” is used in their name and that sums up their attitude to those seeking their help. Each person I had contact with there was both friendly and professional. I like it that everyone is on a first-name basis. Let me note here, that this is a well-equipped facility. They seem to have devices and apparatus for every possible treatment approach.

The staff takes their role in your treatment very seriously. My last therapist, Liz, told me emphatically that “my goal is to have you completely recover.” It was very clear that Liz was serious!

I am old now, 82 years of age. Because of a failed lower back, I have balance issues, and I am losing muscle tone throughout my body. Since I relay on Medicare, I have a limited number of times I can avail myself of this therapy center. I have 10 more for this calendar year. I am hoping to have my primary care doctor allow me to return to Annapolis Family Physical Therapy to address these ‘typical-of-old-age” issues.

A big THANK YOU to the staff at Annapolis Family Physical Therapy for caring and for your devoted attention to my needs. My God bless you all.”

~A.S. 6/27/18

“I’ve had to go for PT many times for different reasons and found Annapolis Family to be the best location for me. I have had many different Physical Therapists at this office and all of them are GREAT! I have also had to go to a different physical therapy practice and I did not have the great results I got from this office. I have referred many friends and co-works who have all had the same good result. Thank you!”

~N.G. 7/6/18

“As I noted in the Google review I just left, this is a fantastic practice. Everyone — from the front office personnel to the techs, to of course, the therapists — are kind and conscientious. My therapists, Chesea and Whitney, are phenominal at what they do. They designed a program for my knee that got me up and running (literally) in a safe and timely manner. I recommend their service to the utmost. Anyone in need of physical therapy would do well to seek treatment at Annapolis Family Physical Therapy.”

~CMF 5/16/18

“I arrived at AFPT post surgery for a ruptured left quad tendon and a non-repaired right quad tendon. Over the course of my program, Mike and the AFPT team took me from walking with a cane to being able to walk several miles daily and work on the grounds at my home with confidence.
The entire AFPT team distinguished themselves with their genuine concerned professionalism that sets them apart from and above their contemporaries!”

~EJQ 5/24/18

“The treatment was excellent. I was comfortable and enjoyed the environment of the facility. The staff is exceptional!”

~AW 6/9/18

“Various members of our family have been coming to Annapolis Family for about 20 years. The age span has been from six years old to 91 years old with a wide variety of problems from cerebral palsy to routine joint replacement rehab. It’s always like coming back to old friends whose opinion and advice we can trust.”

~JWC 2/13/18

“I am a retired RN. I worked thirty plus years in various rehabilitation services. During two different sessions, three years apart, I remain impressed by your staff and programs.”

~E.W. 1/22/18

“I have utilized Annapolis Family Physical Therapy twice. Also, my wife and mother-in-law have used Annapolis Family Physical Therapy. In each situation, the facility did an exceptional job. The staff was knowledgeable, professional and achieved the desired results. I would recommend this company to anyone seeking rehabilitation.”

~W.K 2/27/18

“The word family definitely applies here. I felt like I was very special to everyone I had contact with. I was discharged after 2 months and able to resume my normal life. I couldn’t believe the progress I made! THANK YOU!!!!”

~G.S. 2/21/18

“I have been to therapy twice in the past, once for back (lower) pain and neck most recently in April 2018. In both cases, I receive excellent treatment. The recommendations of the professional staff as to exercises, etc. were spot on. Thanks to all staff for all of your help in getting the “old guy” back to normal and able to swing the golf clubs!”

~B.R. 4/2/18

“I have had 4 medical issues spread out over the last 3 years. All required physical therapy following my surgeries. I always returned to AFPT – Severna Park because of the exceptional staff and high quality of care I received. Should I have another medical issue in the future that requires physical therapy, I will return to the same place. Their entire operation is first rate including scheduling and billing. The therapist and their assistants are knowledgeable, supportive and compassionate.
I highly recommend AFPT to all people in need of physical therapy . They are a family and every patient becomes part of that family.”

~D.C. 4/4/18